FCC Wrestling Team State Champions

Wrestling Champions
Wrestling Champions

Today we are celebrating our FCC Wrestling Team for another State Championship! This weekend’s win is the third in a row for FCC.  Powerhouse FCC has won 16 championships in the program’s history.  Eight of those 16 have been under the leadership of head coach Paul Keysaw. Coach Keysaw was named Coach of the Year for the third season in a row. George Moreno was voted Assistant Coach of the Year.

The Rams beat out all other teams by a considerable margin.  They won with 187 team points.  Second place Sacramento City College had 119.5 points with third place winner, Palomar College, finishing with 109 points.

FCC took twelve wrestlers to compete with seven going to the championship finals. Four FCC wrestlers won individual championships: Isaiah Perez (133 Pounds), Daniel Ruiz (149 pounds), Augie Garcia (165 pounds) and Abner Romero (174 Pounds). Mario Moreno (125 pounds), Luis Ramos (141 pounds), and Ruben Garcia (157 pounds) all placed second.

The two-day state finals were held at Cerritos College.

Read the CCCAA article